Covering High School Sports in America
The National Federation of State High School Associations Coaches Association announced this week that it has honored 22 high school coaches for the 2011-2012 school year.

Named national coaches of the year in girls sports were Jim Ciccarello, track and field, La Cueva (Albuquerque, N.M.); Al Schrauben, basketball, St. Patrick (Portland, Mich.); Al Partelow, volleyball, Livingston (N.J.); Terry Hair, soccer, Olathe East (Kan.); Thomas Kennelly, softball, Swan Valley (Saginaw, Mich.); Mark Kauk, cross country, Unity Christian (Orange City, Iowa); Larry Heflin, tennis, Lone Oak (Paducah, Ky.); Darla Kelly, swimming and diving, Pasadena (Texas); Deanna Knobloch, lacrosse, Moorestown (N.J.); and James Bennett, golf, Grosse Ile (Mich.).

Honored in boys sports were Rick Jones, football, Greenwood (Ark.); John Hancock, track and field, Mullen (Denver); Craig Rothenberger, basketball, Junction City (Ore.); Frank Carey, baseball, North Reading (Mass.); Shawn Brower, soccer, Chattanooga Christian (Tenn.); Neil Russo, wrestling, Newberg (Ore.); Earl Lauer, cross country, River Hill (Clarksville, Md.); Ruben Vargas, tennis, Vernon (Texas); Jack Stoddard, golf, Duxbury (Mass.); and Bruce Boye,swimming and diving, South (Shawnee Mission, Kan.).

The new Spirit Award went to Lisa Blackett of Juab (Nephi, Utah). Under the category of "other," Debbie Bross of Moravian Academy (Bethlehem, Pa.) received the national award for field hockey.

The National Coach Contributor Award went to long-time tennis coach Ginny Honomichl of Baldwin City, Kan.