Covering High School Sports in America
The Colorado High School Coaches Association will honor a milestone group next month, as the organization will induct its 50th Hall of Fame class.

The five inductees represent excellence in the Colorado coaching ranks in a variety of sports. Following is a short bio on each honoree, provided by the CHSCA:

* Brian Christensen, Akron (football, wrestling): An Akron alumnus, class of 1989, Christensen began coaching at the school in 1993. He served as a football assistant until take over the program in 1996 and currently holds that position. During his tenure the Rams have gone 173-33 and have won five state championships and finished as runners-up five other times. His teams also have had winning streaks of 38 and 46 games. Christensen, who is in his second year as Akron's principal, also has led the Rams wrestling team to three regional titles and two state runner-up finishes.

File photo by Alan Hart

Scott Yates (left), Kent Denver.

* Greg King, Stratton (football, basketball): King's career spans 35 years and six schools and seven state titles. Starting in 1976 in his hometown of Walsenburg he has made stops in McClave, Stratton, Del Norte, Grand Junction and Norwood, where he coaches both boys and girls basketball. King's most successful run came at Stratton, where he guided the Eagles to five state titles as well as a 48-game win streak. While at Stratton, his boys basketball team also won it all twice. King also has twice been selected the athletic director of the year by the Colorado Athletic Directors Association (1999, 2004).

* Mike Pallotto, Roosevelt (Johnstown) (wrestling): Pallotto and the Roosevelt wrestling program are synonymous, as he directed the program for the past 38 season. Under his leadership the Roughriders have won three state team titles and finished second seven other times. Overall, Pallotto has coached 32 individual champions and 96 state-placers. He received the Lifetime Service to Wrestling Award from the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2012.

* Sue Snyder, Simla (volleyball): Snyder has turned Simla into a small-school powerhouse during her 29 years. The Cubs have won two state titles and have finished second five times, as Snyder has compiled an overall record of 570-142. Snyder is a a 27-year member of the CHSCA and served as the association's president in 2002. She received the CHSCA's Don DesCombes Distinguished Service Award in 2002 and in 2012 was selected as the Dave Sanders Coach of the Year by The Denver Post.

* Scott Yates, Kent Denver (Englewood) (football): Yates has been the head football coach of the Sun Devils since 1981. This past season, Kent Denver won its third state title while pushing Yates' overall record to 273-69. In addition, Yates served as the head baseball coach from 1981-88 and has been an assistant for the past 23 seasons. He also is the school's Director of Athletics. Yates will join his late father, Richard ‘Dick' Yates, in the CHSCA Hall of Fame. The elder Yates was inducted in 1984.

The induction ceremony is scheduled for March 30 at the Red Lion Hotel in Aurora. Tickets are $42 per person and reservation forms are available at or by e-mailing CHSCA executive director John Burke at