Four newcomers crash Texas state boys basketball party

Randy Jennings | Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Cypress Falls, Mansfield Timberview, Silsbee, Muenster all capture state championships in San Antonio

Video: Patrick Terry's highlights vs. Scurry Rosser
See the Madison senior in action.

First-time champions became the theme of this year's UIL boys state basketball tournament.

Four schools that had never before won a boys state basketball title happily can no longer make that claim after Saturday's six championship games at San Antonio's Alamodome.

Heading the list was Class 6A champion Cypress Falls (Houston), making its first final four appearance. The Golden Eagles advanced to the title game by outlasting Skyline (Dallas) in a triple-overtime semifinal on Friday  and then overcame a slow start to defeat hometown favorite Wagner (San Antonio) 63-57 before a crowd of 14,495.

Other first-time champions included Mansfield Timberview (Arlington) in Class 5A, Silsbee in 4A, and Muenster in 2A.

Madison (Dallas) became a three-time state champion, adding its Class 3A crown to previous titles in 1997 and 2009.

In Class 1A, Lipan brought home the school's third title, the other coming in 1994 and 2005.

A look back at the championship games on Saturday as well as all-tournament teams:

Class 6A: Cypress Falls (Houston) 63, Wagner (San Antonio) 57

Cypress Falls (35-3) converted 32-of-40 free throws and confused Wagner from the second quarter on with a collapsing zone defense. Junior guards Trajan Wesley (20 points) and Nigel Hawkins (18 points) combined to sink 24-of-30 free throws.
Wagner (36-3) was led by 6-9 senior forward Tristan Clark's 18 points, 10 rebounds, two assists and two steals. Clark is a Baylor signee. Kevin McCullar, a 6-4 sophomore scored 12. Wagner, seeking its first state title, was making its third final four appearance.
All-tourney: MVP-Nigel Hawkins, Cypress Falls, Jr., 6-3 G; Tristan Clark, Wagner, Sr., 6-9 F; Marcus Garrett, Skyline (Dallas), Sr., 6-7 G; Kevin McCullar, Wagner, So., 6-4 G/F; Trajan Wesley, Cypress Falls, Jr., 5-10 G.

Class 5A: Mansfield Timberview (Arlington) 74, Fort Bend Marshall (Missouri City) 66

Timberview (32-7) rode the hot shooting of 6-3 junior guard Chris Mullins (36 points) to earn the state crown. The school's girls team just missed making it a sweep, losing to Canyon in the girls 5A final the previous week. Tim Johnson (15 points, 3 assists) and Isaac Likekele (12 points, 9 rebounds) were big contributors for the Wolves. Timberview's only previous trip to the boys final four came in 2009.
Marshall (32-8) was led by Jabari Rice, a 6-3 senior guard, with 20 points and six rebounds. Another 6-3 senior guard, Tajzmel Sherman, tallied 17 points with nine rebounds. Marshall was making its first state tournament appearance.
All-tourney: MVP-Chris Mullins, Timberview, Jr., 6-3 G; Avery Anderson, Northwest (Justin), So., 6-1 G; Tim Johnson, Timberview, Sr., 6-3 G; Jabari Rice, FB Marshall, Sr., 6-3 G; Tajzmel Sherman, FB Marshall, Sr., 6-3 G.

Class 4A: Silsbee 89, Brazosport (Freeport) 83

Silsbee (33-6) for 12 months had to live with the memory of a three-point loss in last year's state final at the hands of Lincoln (Dallas). Jordyn Adams, a 6-4 sophomore, made sure there would be no repeat by scoring 26 points to go with nine rebounds. Willie Jones, a 6-4 senior forward, came off the bench to contribute 17 points and 13 rebounds.
Brazosport (33-4), in its first final four appearance, received outstanding individual efforts from 5-11 senior Chris Rossow (35 points) and 6-7 junior Hunter Quick (19 points, 12 rebounds, 5 blocks).
All tourney: MVP-Jordyn Adams, Silsbee, So., 6-4 G; Braelon Bush, Silsbee, Fr., 5-8 G; Willie Jones, Silsbee, Sr., 6-4 F; Nathan Priddy, Argyle, Sr., 6-2 G; Chris Rossow, Brazosport, Sr., 5-11 G.

Class 3A: Madison (Dallas) 42, Brock 36
Madison (28-8), making its sixth final four appearance since 2009 and ninth overall, was paced by senior guard Patrick Terry (18 points, 10 rebounds). JeMichael Bowens, a 6-6 senior, had 10 points and 10 rebounds.
Brock (30-9), making its fourth trip to state in the last six seasons, was led by 5-11 junior Amery Hughes' 14 points, six rebounds and two assists. Hayden Waller led in rebounds with 12.
All-tourney: MVP-Patrick Terry, Madison, Sr., 6-0 G; JeMichael Bowens, Madison, Sr., 6-6 G/F; Amery Hughes, Brock, Jr., 5-11 G; Desmond Scott, Madison, Sr., 5-10 G; Hayden Waller, Brock, Sr., 6-2 F.

Class 2A: Muenster 73, Clarendon 45
Muenster (33-6) had extra incentive after losing by 10 points to Canadian in last year‘s title game. The Hornets, in the final four for the third time in four seasons, were led by 6-2 senior Blake Hoepfner (21 points), 6-6 senior Logan Cook (15 points, 14 rebounds, 3 assists, 5 blocks) and 6-2 junior John Weger (19 points, 5 rebounds).
Clarendon (31-3) was paced by 5-11 junior guard Colt Wood (18 points) and 6-5 senior Marshal Johnson (11 points, 6 rebounds).
All-tourney: MVP-Blake Hoepfner, Muenster, Sr., 6-2 F; Riley Chipman, Grapeland, Sr., 5-8 G; Logan Cook, Muenster, Sr., 6-6 F; Marshal Johnson, Clarendon, Sr., 6-5 F/C; John Weger, Muenster, Jr., 6-2 G.

Class 1A: Lipan 46, Happy 43
Lipan (36-3) got two free throws from Santana Martinez with 15 seconds remaining for the final winning margin. Ty Bryant, a 6-7 junior forward, led the Indians with 17 points and seven rebounds.
Happy (25-6) stayed close thanks to 6-5 Sterling White (18 points, 12 rebounds, 4 blocks).
All-tourney: MVP-Ty Bryant, Lipan, Jr., 6-7 F; Santana Martinez, Lipan, Jr., 5-10 G; Colton McCarley, Happy, Jr., 5-11 G; Tate Phillips, Lipan, Sr., 6-5 G; Sterling White, Happy, Sr., 6-5 F.
Desmond Scott, Madison
Photo by David Megginson
Desmond Scott, Madison