Final 2019 MaxPreps Top 50 national high school volleyball rankings

Aaron Williams | Tuesday, November 26, 2019 11:00am

Torrey Pines finishes as national champion after blitzing through impressive field to win CIF Open Division crown.

Video: Final Top 25 volleyball rankings
Torrey Pines finishes No. 1 after winning state title in California.

When Torrey Pines (San Diego) finished off Marin Catholic (Kentfield) with a 25-11, 25-23, 25-14 sweep in the California Interscholastic Federation Open Division volleyball final, the Falcons capped an impressive run past four Top 25 teams on the way to the Golden State pinnacle, a 39-2 mark and ultimately a MaxPreps national championship.

Torrey Pines finishes ahead of Byron Nelson (Trophy Club, Texas), victors in the brutal UIL 6A bracket and New Castle (Ind.), which took home the 4A title after winning the 3A title three straight seasons.

All three teams were models of consistency this season, but at the end of the day, Torrey Pines' route to a state title — in addition to its national schedule — gives the Falcons the edge and the nod for the national honor.

In order to get the No. 1 seed in the Southern California portion of the Open Division bracket, the Falcons first had to handle Cathedral Catholic (San Diego), winners of the Durango Fall Classics earlier in the season, in the San Diego Section finals. In the Open Division bracket, all Torrey Pines did was slice past Marymount (Los Angeles), Mater Dei (Santa Ana) and the Wildcats in the finals — all Top 25 teams.
Torrey Pines players celebrate winning the CIF Open Division title over Marin Catholic.
Photo by Heston Quan
Torrey Pines players celebrate winning the CIF Open Division title over Marin Catholic.
"I can't imagine another team in the country having as much depth as we do," Falcons coach Brennan Dean told the San Diego Union-Tribune.

That might be true as Torrey Pines had six hitters with more than 100 kills — led by Delaynie Maple with 345, Maya Satchell with 319 and Megan Kraft with 299. The Falcons also have senior Carly Diehl as setter, dishing up 1,076 assists on the year, while the team tallied nearly 1,500 digs.

In the end, the Falcons' two losses (to La Costa Canyon and California Division 1 state title winner Vista Murrieta), coupled with a slew of quality wins over nationally ranked foes gave Torrey Pines an edge over both Byron Nelson and New Castle.

The Bobcats won their first UIL 6A crown behind the stellar play of national player of the year front-runner Paige Flickinger and Charitie Luper, who was named MVP of the postseason tournament. Byron Nelson downed previous Top 10 Flower Mound in the regional quarterfinals and then handled Clemens (Shertz) and Plano West in state semis and finals. One of the Bobcats' losses was to nationally ranked Redondo Union at the season-opening Ann Kang Invitational, but the other was to 24-22 Keller in league play.

Meanwhile, the Trojans — led by the powerhouse Shaffmaster sisters, Mabrey and Melani — wrapped up the Indiana 4A title on Nov. 9 with a 3-1 win over Hamilton Southeastern to capture a fourth straight Hoosier State title (New Castle had won three previous 3A titles before being bumped to 4A this season). The lone loss was to national No. 11 Assumption, but at the end of the day the strength of schedule wasn't as strong as either Torrey Pines or Byron Nelson.

Past MaxPreps National Champions
2010 — Archbishop Mitty (San Jose, Calif.)
2011 — Papillion-LaVista (Papillion, Neb.)
2012 — Bishop Moore (Orlando, Fla.)
2013 — The Woodlands (Texas)
2014 — Lewis-Palmer (Monument, Colo.)
2015 — Cathedral (Indianapolis)
2016 — Mother McAuley (Chicago)
2017 — Walton (Marietta, Ga.)
2018 — Assumption (Louisville, Ky.)
Final Top 50 Volleyball Rankings

1. (Last week 2) Torrey Pines (San Diego), 39-2
California Open Division champion; CIF San Diego Section Open Division champion

2. (5) Byron Nelson (Trophy Club, Texas), 50-2
Texas 6A state champion

3. (1) New Castle (Ind.), 35-1
Indiana 4A champion

4. (6) Benet Academy (Lisle, Ill.), 41-1
Illinois Division 1 champion

5. (4) Green Hope (Cary, N.C.), 27-2
North Carolina 4A champion

6. (12) Mercy (Farmington Hills, Mich.), 57-1
Michigan Division 1 champion

7. (19) Immaculate Heart Academy (Washington Township, N.J.), 33-4
New Jersey Non-Public champion; New Jersey Tournament of Champions titlist

8. (9) Cedar Falls (Iowa), 45-1
Iowa Class 5A champion

9. (10) Redondo Union (Redondo Beach, Calif.), 38-4
CIF Southern California Open Division semifinalist

10. (3) Mater Dei (Santa Ana, Calif.), 30-6
CIF Southern California Open Division runner up

11. (7) Assumption (Louisville, Ky.), 36-7
Kentucky state champion

12. (18) Plano West (Plano, Texas), 40-6
Texas 6A runner up

13. (16) Marymount (Los Angeles), 33-5
CIF Southern California Open Division semifinalist

14. (17) Cathedral Catholic (San Diego), 30-6
CIF Southern California Open Division semifinalist; Durango Fall Classic champion

15. (8) Ridge Point (Missouri City, Texas), 46-5
Texas 6A state semifinalist

16. (15) Marist (Chicago), 37-3
Illinois Division 1 third place finisher

17. (23) Christian (Grand Rapids, Mich.), 44-3
Michigan Division 2 champion

18. (24) Lovejoy (Lucas, Texas), 48-5
Texas 5A champion

19. (NR) St. Francis DeSales (Columbus, Ohio), 27-2
Ohio Division 1 champion

20. (13) Marin Catholic (Kentfield, Calif.), 35-4

California Open Division runner up

21. (14) Padua Franciscan (Parma, Ohio), 28-1
Ohio Division 1 runner up

22. (11) Flower Mound (Texas), 41-4

Texas 6A regional quarterfinalist

23. (20) McIntosh (Peachtree City, Ga.), 36-1
Georgia AAAAA champion

24. (21) Nation Ford (Fort Mill, S.C.), 48-5-1
South Carolina AAAAA champion
25. (25) Leon (Tallahassee, Fla.), 29-3

Florida 6A champion

Next 25

26. Lake Highland Prep (Orlando, Fla.), 26-2
Florida 4A champion

27. Kamehameha Kapalama (Honolulu), 29-4
Hawaii Division champion

28. North Raleigh Christian Academy (Raleigh, N.C.), 31-4
NCISAA 4A champion

29. Briarcrest Christian (Eads, Tenn.), 39-4
TSSAA Division II champion

30. Yorktown (Ind.), 28-2
Indiana 4A runner up

31. The Woodlands (Texas), 47-5
Texas 6A regional semifinals

32. Walton (Marietta, Ga.), 32-8
Georgia AAAAAAA champion

33. Eagan (Minn.), 36-1
Minnesota Class AAA runner up

34. Papillion-LaVista (Papillion, Neb.), 36-2
Nebraska Class A runner up

35. Providence (Clarksville, Ind.), 29-2
Indiana 4A regional runner up

36. Aquinas (Overland Park, Kan.), 34-7
Kansas 5A champion

37. Jonesboro (Ark.), 35-0
Arkansas 5A champion

38. Jesuit (Portland, Ore.), 25-4
Oregon 6A champion

39. Lowell (Mich.), 55-4
Michigan Division 1 runner up

40. Sierra Canyon (Chatsworth, Calif.), 36-4
CIF Division 1 semifinalist

41. North Allegheny (Wexford, Pa.), 15-1-1
PIAA 4A champion

42. Arrowhead (Hartland, Wis.), 42-3
Wisconsin Division I champion

43. St. James Academy (Lenexa, Kan.), 40-3
Kansas 5A runner up

44. Skutt Catholic (Omaha, Neb.), 34-5
Nebraska Class B champion

45. Mercy (Louisville, Ky.), 31-7
Kentucky state runner up

46. Flint Hill (Oakton, Va.), 31-1
Virginia Division 1 champion

47. Capital (Helena, Mont.), 33-0
Montana AA champion

48. Ridgefield (Wash.), 30-0-1
Washington state 2A champion

49. Blessed Trinity (Roswell, Ga.), 38-9
Georgia AAAA champion

50. Basha (Chandler, Ariz.), 26-16
Arizona 6A champion